This is a past event.

One Night with Janis Joplin 

When: Fri., July 27, 7:30 p.m., Sat., July 28, 8:30 p.m., Sun., July 29, 6:30 p.m., Tue., July 31, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 1, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 2, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 3, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 4, 4:30 & 8:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 5, 6:30 p.m., Tue., Aug. 7, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 8, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 9, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 10, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 11, 4 & 8:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 12, 6:30 p.m., Tue., Aug. 14, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 15, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 16, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 17, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 18, 4 & 8:30 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 19, 2:30 p.m. 2012
Phone: 216-241-6000
Price: $35-65
www.clevelandplayhouse.com
When Cat Stephani decided to audition for the role of Janis Joplin in a new musical set to debut in Portland, Oregon, she was confident she would land the part of the legendary singer. “People tell me I remind them of her,” she laughs. “I get Janis a lot.” Tonight Stephani brings the iconic singer to Cleveland, with the local premiere of One Night With Janis Joplin. Produced by Cleveland Play House, and written by Randy Johnson with complete support from the Joplin family, the musical has been called a celebration of the woman and her place in musical history. Part concert experience and part exploration of Joplin’s musical roots, it’s “a show about where her music came from,” says Stephani. “You come away hearing Janis Joplin differently.” The soundtrack is a powerful blend of classics like “Me and Bobby McGee” and “Piece of My Heart” with tunes from Joplin’s influences like Bessie Smith and Etta James. For her part, Stephani gets a kick out of wailing on rock songs at every show. “It’s a ‘have a drink in the theater’ type of evening,” she promises. Performances continue at the Allen Theatre on Playhouse Square through August 19; tickets are $35 to $65 and are available by phone, online, or at the Playhouse Square box office.
— Julia Eberle

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

© 2016 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.


Website powered by Foundation