You searched for:

  • [X]Public Places
  • [X]Parks/Reservations
Start over

Search for…

Narrow Search

285 results
The Coupling Reserve is made up of 20 sloping and river-bottom acres. The reserve was donated to the Erie MetroParks in 1991 by the nonprofit Coupling Corporation, which for years had operated the property as a spiritual retreat center. Built around a historic railroad theme, the reserve grounds are open to the general public from 8 a.m. to dark year-round.
Mary Campbell Cave was named for a pioneer girl, who was captured in Pennsylvania by Delaware Indians and brought to the cave, where she lived as a child of Chief Netawatwees. She was released after five years, during the 1764 treaty ending the French and Indian War.

Land donated by both the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company and Gilbert Waltz gave this Metro Park its start in 1930.

Caley is a semideveloped park reserved for wildlife and nature study. Its 507 acres include wetlands, forest, and field habitats, including two large ponds and Wellington Creek, which runs roughly through the middle of the reservation. Two popular activities include wildflower hikes and fishing, but visitors are welcome just to come and enjoy the quiet and natural beauty of this unique park.
Owned by the City of Akron and managed by the Geauga Park District, Headwaters Park is made up of the 425-acre East Branch Reservoir and more than 500 acres surrounding the reservoir. Visitors to Headwaters Park might catch a glimpse of a bald eagle or osprey soaring high above, as well as an occasional great blue heron or loon.

The outdoor sculpture known as "Squaw Rock" in South Chagrin Reservation was carved by artist and blacksmith Henry Church in 1885. During his life, the American Indians knew only hardship at the hands of white settlers. Henry Church was compelled to tell the story of the American Indians. He called this work The Rape of the Indians by the White Man.
The falls were once called Bakers Falls, named for the Baker family, who had lived in the area since the early 1800s and operated one of the first mills. In 1974, the area was named Paine Falls, at which time it was dedicated as a park by Lake Metroparks.

In the late 1970s, the Summit County Metro Parks developed a plan to transform 1,500 acres of land in the Cuyahoga River and Little Cuyahoga River valleys near downtown Akron into a unique urban park called Cascade Valley.

The Lester Rail Trail is the first example of conversion of a former rail corridor for public use to a bike/hike trail in Medina County. The trail extends 3.2 miles from Abbeyville Road to Lester Road in York Township.
The district features 28 parks, two golf courses, three lakefront locations, nature and wildlife centers, and agricultural theme park.

285 total results

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar


© 2016 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.


Website powered by Foundation