Favorite

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

This Just In: Cleveland Concert News

Posted By on Tue, Jan 29, 2008 at 5:00 AM

AVRIL.jpg
Oh, Canada: Avril Lavigne stands on the Wolstein stage for thee, on March 26th.
This week, Scene has 33 new shows to announce, hot off the presses, for no additional money down, one night only. We've got jumbles of jazz, including a two-night stand from the always-popular Brian Auger’s Oblivion Express. Classic rock heads get ready: The original lineup of Asia returns. And Yellowcard, the violin-toting, pop punkers return for an acoustic show. (At least it’ll be quieter). Avril Lavigne tickets are on sale for cheap. And Dax Riggs is playing Akron twice. Seriously. Read on for the full run down and tune in every Tuesday for the city’s largest list of concert annoucements. – D.X. Ferris CANCELED: The Meatmen: Fri., April 18. Now That's Class. NEW FOR THIS WEEK: Dax Riggs(of Deadboy & Elephant Men/Acid Bath): Two shows at BarFly, 153 E. Cuyahoga Falls Ave., Akron, MySpace.com/BarFlyAkron: Saturday, February 2, with Hell’s Information, 8 p.m., $12. Also Sunday, Feb. 3, following Super Bowl party, with Masters of Luxury, $15 before 8 p.m. (includes wings and pizza)/$10 after. THIS JUST IN: John Abercrombie/Mark Soskin Quartet: Sun., March 16, 7 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Aloha/Owen/Unwed Sailor/Anthallo/Paper Rivals: New date, lineup, Sat., March 29, 6 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. Asia (original lineup): Sat., April 19, 7 p.m., $35. House of Blues. Erin Bode: Wed., April 2, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Brian Auger's Oblivion Express: Two shows nightly, all tickets $25. 7 and 9 p.m. Wed. Mar. 26. Also 8 and 10 p.m. Thu. Mar. 27. Nighttown. Cabinet: Tavern, Thu., March 27, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland. Cherish the Ladies: Thu., April 17, two shows: 8 and 10 p.m., $30. Nighttown. The Chieftains: Sat., March 1, 7:30 p.m., $10-$45 (PlayhouseSquare.org). Palace Theatre. Digitalism: Wed., March 19, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Galactic: Fri., April 11, 7 p.m., $20. House of Blues. Beppe Gambetta: Tue., March 25, 7 p.m., $15. Nighttown. Gil Mantera's Party Dream: Thu., March 20, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Dick Gregory: Sun., March 2; Mon., March 3, two shows nightly: 7 and 9 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Buddy Guy: Tue., April 8, 7 p.m., $29.50. House of Blues. Haale: Tavern, Fri., March 28, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. Avril Lavigne: Wed., March 26, 7 p.m., $18-$47.50 (LiveNation.com or Ticketmaster). Limited time, beginning Thu. Jan 1: Four reserved tickets for $104. Wolstein Center at CSU. Nellie McKay: Thu., March 6, 8 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Brad Mehldau Trio: Thu., April 3, two shows: 8 and 10 p.m., $30. Nighttown. Mi Ami (members of Black Eyes) and Food for Animals (Baltimore hip-hop): Thu., Feb. 21, 9 p.m. Now That's Class. Tristan Prettyman: Cambridge Room, Sat., April 5, 9 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Rhapsody Blue & Friends: Mon., March 10, 7 p.m., $10. Nighttown. Saves the Day/Armor for Sleep/Set Your Goals/Metro Station/Weatherbox: Sat., April 19, 5:30 p.m., $16.50. House of Blues. Shattered Faith: Thu., July 31, 9 p.m. Now That's Class. Shtreiml/Amazing Rondini Brothers: Wed., March 5, 8 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Silence of a Silhouette CD release, with Affiance, Arbors End, and the Critically Acclaimed: Ballroom, Sat., March 8, 7 p.m., $10. Agora. Johnny Sketch & the Dirty Notes: Tavern, Mon., March 10, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. Stars: Mon., March 31, 9 p.m., $15. Beachland. (216)/Keratoma/King/Calo: Sat., March 8, 9 p.m. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Chuchito Valdes: Wed., Feb. 27, 7 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 28, 8 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Brian Vander Ark (ex-Verve Pipe)/Kev Rowe: Ballroom, Sun., Feb. 17, 7 p.m., $12.50 ADV/$15 DOS. Beachland. Frank Vignola Quintet: Wed., March 5, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Yellowcard (acoustic)/the Spill Canvas/PlayRadioPlay/Treaty of Paris: Fri., March 14, 6 p.m., $17.50. House of Blues.
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Calendar

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Facebook Activity

© 2016 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.


Website powered by Foundation