Favorite

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

This Just In: Concert announcements to melt your face

Posted By on Tue, Apr 22, 2008 at 1:07 PM

Tune in here every Tuesday for the largest list of newly announced Cleveland shows in the free world. This week, no fewer than 51 new shows, including Lyle Lovett and OAR. A full-on swing revival is in the works, apparently: Both Big Bad Voodoo Daddy (the band from Swingers) and the Cherry Poppin' Daddies (that "Zoot Suit Riot" tune from like '98). And hooray for hip-hop: Z107.9's 9th birthday bash is scheduled to include live sets by Dem Franchize Boyz (click the pic for a blast), Mike Jones, Ray Cash, and many others. Read on for a full rundown. -- D.X. Ferris CANCELED: Ryan Bingham & Dead Horses: Tavern, Fri., May 23. Beachland. Matt Haimovitz: Ballroom, Sun., May 25. Beachland. THIS JUST IN: Algebra/Maya Azucena/AB & The Souljourners: 9 p.m. Fri., May 16. $18 (21+ only). House of Blues, Cambridge Room. The Banner/the Hottness/Dr. Ackula/Fire Still Burns: Thu., July 24, 7 p.m., $10. Peabody's. Bears/Coffinberry/Hot Rails/Beaten Awake/Kiddo/Expecting Raid/User Sets Mode+ (CD release): Both rooms, Ken's birthday bash, 9 p.m., free, Sat., May 31. Beachland. Becoming the Archetype/Beneath the Sky: Mon., June 16, 7 p.m., $10. Peabody's. Natasha Bedingfield/the Veronicas/Kate Voegele: Mon., June 2, 6 p.m., $20. House of Blues. Joey Belladonna (Anthrax set)/Degameth (Megadeth tribute): Sat., May 10, 7 p.m., $10. The Cove. Big Bad Voodoo Daddy: Celebrating 100 Years of Cab Calloway. 7 p.m. Sun., June 8, $20. The Black Hollies/Dead Letter Room/Mark David & the Nightly Lights: Tavern, Mon., May 5, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland. Carla Bozulich's Evangelista: Tavern, Fri., June 20, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland. Carney/The Brakes: 9 p.m. Tue., May 20, $8. House of Blues, Cambridge Room. Cherry Poppin' Daddies/Madison Crawl: Tue., July 1, 7 p.m., $14 ADV/$16 DOS. Peabody's. Chiara String Quartet: Sat., May 3, 8 p.m., $10. Nighttown. Eddie "The Chief" Clearwater: Sat., May 3. Wilbert's. Cleveland 100: Unsigned-band festival. Friday, doors 6 p.m., Saturday, doors 3 p.m. Two-day passes $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Featuring headliners the Vinyltones, Silence of a Silhouette, the Madison Crawl, Solipsist, To Envy the Horrid, and Aestethic Violence (featuring members of Dead Even, Pig, Disown, and Garmonbozia). Many others, including Voice of Treason, Fri., May 16 and Sat., May 17. Peabody's. Critical Bill/Primer 55: Fri., June 20, 7 p.m., $8. Peabody's. Don Dixon/Doug Gillard/Carlos Jones/Tommy Wiggins: CD release, followed by meet & greet, Fri., May 2, 7:30 p.m., $10. Tri-C Metro Campus Main Stage Theatre. Film School/Unsparing Sea: 8 p.m., $5 ADV/$8 DOS, with free pre-show weenie roast at 6 p.m, Sun., May 4. Beachland. Firewater: Tavern, Wed., May 28, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. Finntroll/Warbringer: Fri., Aug. 29, 7 p.m., $15 ADV/$18 DOS. Peabody's. Guy Forsyth Band: Tavern, Fri., July 18, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. Green Jelly/Mensrea: Wed., July 2, 7 p.m., $14 ADV/$16 DOS. Peabody's. Gypsy Dave & the Starjumpers: Tavern, Sat., July 12, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland. Halo of Locusts (featuring Randy from Lamb of God): Thu., June 12, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Hanzel Und Gretyl/Living Dead/Colombine: Thu., June 19, $14 ADV/$16 DOS. Peabody's. The Hentchmen/the In-Sect: Tavern, Sat., June 7, 8:30 p.m., $8. Beachland. Josh Hoge/Ernie Halter: Tavern, Mon., June 9, 8 p.m., $5 ADV/$7 DOS. Beachland. Hot Club of San Francisco: Sun., June 1, 7 p.m., $15. Nighttown. Local H: Fri., May 23, $10. Roc Bar. An Evening With Lyle Lovett: 8 p.m. Wed., July 9. $42.50/$52.50 (LiveNation.com or Ticketmaster). Lakewood Civic Auditorium. Motley Crue/Buckcherry/Papa Roach/Sixx:A.M./Trapt: Wed., Aug. 20, 5 p.m., $29.50-$75/four-pack lawn tickets $99 (LiveNation.com or Ticketmaster). Blossom Music Center. Frank McComb: Wed., May 28, two shows: 7 and 9 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Mike Milligan & Steam Shovel: Sat., May 3, 9 p.m. Savannah Bar & Grille. Nightwish/Sonata Arctica: Theater, Thu., Sept. 4, 7:30 p.m., $24 ADV/$29 DOS/$55 VIP. Agora. O'Death/Not So Good Ol' Boys/Saints: Tavern, Sat., May 17, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland. OAR/Ozomatli: 7 p.m. Sat., Aug. 16, $30. Time Warner Cable Amphitheater at Tower City. Polkadot Cadaver (ex-Dog Fashion Disco): Sun., June 8, 6:30 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Psyopus/War From a Harlot's Mouth/Fuck the Facts: Thu., Aug. 21, 7 p.m., $10. Peabody's. Stuck Mojo: Wed., June 11, 7 p.m., $12. Peabody's. School of Rock performs Pink Floyd's The Wall: Fri., May 30; Sat., May 31, 6:30 p.m., $7 ADV/$10 DOS. Grog Shop. Scream the Prayer: Tue., July 8, 4 p.m., $15 ADV/$17 DOS. Peabody's. Jeffree Star/Pink Spiders: Wed., May 7, 8 p.m. Agora. Tangled Up in Bob: Various artists perform the music of Bob Dylan, to benefit Roots of American Music, 6:30-9:30 p.m, Thu., May 15. Nighttown. The Tarbox Ramblers/Broken Circle Gospel Deluxe: Tavern, Wed., July 16, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. The Hacksensaw Boys: Tavern, Fri., Aug. 22, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Beachland. Sachal Vasandani: Mon., May 12, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Voodoo Glow Skulls/Whole Wheat Bread/Knockout: Mon., June 9, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Wednesday 13 (ex-Murderdolls)/Marazene: Tue., July 22, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Jim White: Tavern, Sat., May 10, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland. Adrienne Young Band/Pete McDonald: Tavern, Thu., May 15, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Beachland. Z107.9 9th Birthday Bash, with Trey Songs, Mike Jones, Chip Tha Ripper, Young Ray, Ray Cash, Dem Franchize Boyz, Ray Jay, Ryan Leslie, and Roberto Ocasio's Latin Jazz Project: Sat., May 17, 7 p.m., VIP and general admission tickets available. Agora.
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar

© 2016 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.


Website powered by Foundation