Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club. Because No News is Bad News.

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

This Just In: Concert Announcements

Posted By on Tue, Jun 9, 2009 at 10:00 AM

cf8a/1244553445-foxx.jpg

This week, we have 51 hot new shows from everyone who’s anyone, in every kind of thing. Highlights include jazz great Terence Blanchard, R&B crooner Maxwell, a bongload of reggae, De La Soul’s best-of tour and Jamie Foxx’s arena-sized music show. Not to mention a smelting pot of metal, plenty of punk, Tito Puente Jr. and that David Cook dude. — D.X. Ferris

Aja (Steely Dan tribute): Sat., Aug. 22. The Winchester.

Alan Greene Band Benefit for Steve Isaacs: 1 to 5 p.m., $10, all proceeds go to Isaac cancer fund, Thu., Aug. 27. House of Swing.

All Get Out/All the Day Holiday/Hey Sandy/Chasing Chariots/Sparrows & Arrows: Fri., July 10, 7 p.m., $8 ADV (Ticketweb, all ages, $2 under-21 fee at door). Musica.

Andrew Strong (lead singer from The Commitments movie): Thu., Aug. 13. The Winchester.

Audrye Sessions/Paper Route/Hello Timebomb: Early show, 6 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS, Wed., July 8. Grog Shop.

Bad Medicine (Bon Jovi tribute): Free, Main Stage, more info at www.espn990.com, Sat., June 20, 8 p.m., Bad Medicine (Bon Jovi tribute). Massillon.

Adrian Belew: Tue., July 21, 8 p.m., $20 ADV/$23 DOS. Grog Shop.

Big Organ Trio/Mark Mallman: Thu., June 25, 8:30 p.m., $10. Wilbert's.

Terence Blanchard Quintet: Two shows nightly: 7 and 9 p.m., $30, Tue., Aug. 18; Wed., Aug. 19. Nighttown.

Brand New: Will-call tickets only, two ticket limit per order, on sale Thursday, June 11 at 1 p.m, Thu., July 9, 7 p.m., $29. Grog Shop.

Lelia Broussard/Bess Rogers/Allie Moss: Sun., Aug. 2, 8 p.m., $10. Wilbert's.

Ryan Cabrera/David Ritz/the Kin: Cambridge Room, Thu., July 9, 9:30 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS/four-pack general admission tickets $30 (LiveNation.com). House of Blues.

Cadillac Sky/JP & the Chatfield Boys: Fri., Sept. 11. Beachland.

Michael Charles: 9 p.m. Saturday, $10. Also 4:30 p.m. Sunday, no cover, Sat., June 27; Sun., June 28. Fat Fish Blue.

Cobalt & the Hired Guuns/Hiram Rapids Stumblers/the Misery Jackals: Tavern, Thu., July 9, 9 p.m., $6. Beachland.

Joey Correira Quartet, featuring Jamey Haddad: Sat., Aug. 1, 8 p.m., $10. Nighttown.

David Cook/Green River Ordinance: Thu., Sept. 17, 8:30 p.m., $31. House of Blues.

De La Soul: 20th anniversary greatest hits tour, Tue., Aug. 25, 8 p.m., $23 ADV/$26 DOS/four-pack general admission tickets $69 (LiveNation.com). House of Blues.

DevilDriver/Emmure/Despised Icon/Mychildrenmybride/Veil of Maya/For the Fallen Dreams/Oceano: Tue., Aug. 18, 3 p.m., DevilDriver/Emmure/Despised Icon/Mychildrenmybride/Veil of Maya/For the Fallen Dreams/Oceano. Peabody's.

Drummer/Tiger Fighter/Company Picnic: Fri., June 19, 9 p.m., $6 ADV/$7 DOS (Ticketweb, all ages, $2 under 21 fee at door). Musica.

Enon/As If/40s/Hotchacha: Mon., June 22, 9 p.m., $8 ADV (Ticketweb, all ages, $2 under 21 fee at door). Musica.

Fiery Furnaces: Late show, Wed., July 8, 10 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop.

Jamie Foxx: Music tour, Sun., Aug. 16, 7:30 p.m., $39.75-$59.75 (Ticketmaster). House of Swing.

The Hackensaw Boys/Hiram Rapids Stumblers: Ballroom, Fri., June 19, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland.

Honor Society: Thu., Aug. 27, 3:30 p.m., $19.50 ADV/four-pack general admission tickets $58 (LiveNation.com). House of Blues.

Indigenous: Ballroom, Thu., July 16, 8 p.m., $15. Beachland.

Artie Lange (from Howard Stern Show): Two shows: 7 and 9:30 p.m., $50, Sat., June 20. Improv.

Mike Lee New Tricks Quartet: Thu., July 16, 8 p.m., $10. Nighttown.

Los Campesinos/Girls: Thu., Aug. 6, 8 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Grog Shop.

Maxwell: Thu., July 16, 8 p.m., $42.50-$89.50 (LiveNation.com or PlayHouseSquare.org). Allen Theatre.

Midnight Star/Zapp Band/Meditation: 6 p.m. start, Midnight Star at 9:30, Zapp at 7:30. $5, Sat., June 27. Lock 3 Live.

Midwest Reggae Festival: Featuring Freddie McGregor, Beres Hammon, Original Wailers, Wailing Souls, Tarrus Riley, Dean Fraset, Duane Stephenson, Culture Kenyetta Jill, Lenya Wilks, Carlos Jones & PLUS Band, Blue Riddim Band, Marty Dread, Deighton Charlemagne, Ark Band, Outlaws I & I, the Pocket Band, and Roger Steffans, Fri., Aug. 7; Sat., Aug. 8; Sun., Aug. 9. Nelson Ledges Quarry Park.

Owl City/Kate Havnerik/Unicorn Kid: Mon., Sept. 21, 8 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Grog Shop.

Tom Principato: Wed., July 1, 8 p.m., $10. Wilbert's.

Tito Puente Jr.: At Salsa en Blanco: 50 years of Salsa concert, Tito Puente tribute, with live set by Puente Jr, with music by DJ Frankie Flores and DJ Ray Swift. 9:30 p.m., $15 ADV/$20 DOS, Sat., July 11. Silk.

Radio Moscow: Tavern, Wed., Aug. 5, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland.

Ravage (Metal Blade): Mon., Aug. 10. Now That's Class.

Tom Russell: Tavern, Wed., Oct. 7, 8 p.m., $20. Beachland.

Curtis Salgado & Band: Mon., Aug. 3. The Winchester.

Satisfaction (Rolling Stones tribute): Fri., July 3, 8 p.m., $10. Wilbert's.

Hallie Sinclair: Tue., June 16, 7 p.m., $10. Nighttown.

Howie Smith/David Thomas/Bill Randsom Organ Trio: 8 p.m., $10, Sat., Aug. 15. Nighttown.

Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes: Fri., Aug. 28, 9 p.m., $27.50 ADV/$30 DOS/four-pack general admission tickets $82 (LiveNation.com). House of Blues.

Subhumans (UK)/Witch Hunt/Ray Gradys/the Episodes: Mon., July 6. Now That's Class.

Tarbox Ramblers/Golden Ox: Fri., July 10, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland.

Thriving Ivory/Tyler Hilton: Sun., July 19, 8 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Grog Shop.

Totally Michael/Prizzy Prizzy Please: Thu., July 2, 8 p.m., $8. Grog Shop.

Trash Can Sinatras: Tue., Aug. 11, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop.

Walter Trout & the Radicals: Mon., Aug. 17. The Winchester.

True White Affair, hosted by Babylon, with music by Mick Boogie: Sat., July 4, 9 p.m., $14.50 ADV/$20 DOS. House of Blues.

Vast Aire (of Cannibal Ox): With Mikrophonx, Amotions, Paper Mates, Vice Verses, Proph, DJ Net Rockwell, Fri., June 12. Phantasy Nite Club.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at news@clevescene.com.

Cleveland Scene works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Cleveland and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Cleveland's true free press free.

More by Michael Gallucci

Read the Digital Print Issue

September 9, 2020

View more issues

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Calendar

© 2020 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.


Website powered by Foundation