United We Brunch is coming back in April. Tickets are on sale right now!

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Freedom Mega Lineup: Don't Call It A Supergroup (Even Though It Is)

Posted By on Tue, Jun 16, 2009 at 9:03 AM

Freedom play their first show tonight at Now That's Class with a mega-super lineup that's like some kind of multi-headed radiation monster from a Godzilla flick. The band features members of Roué, This Moment in Black History, Pere Ubu and most of the better indie-rock bands that have graced the Cleveland scene in recent years.

Steve Mehlman (Roué, Ubu) and Jason Gintert both play drums. This Moment frontman Chris Kulcsar plas two synths. Former Roué frontman Justin Coulter and Anthony Merritt both play guitar and sing. Coulter and Kulsar previously played together last year, in their Lottery League Band, Valley of Life. Honestly, we haven't seen Freedom yet, but we're guessing it's awesomely ecstatic noise. Click the video above for footage from their three-man lineup.

"Freedom is all I got," says Coulter, referring to his musical employment status. "We should be putting out a couple 7-inches and a tape by late this year. I've known all the dudes in Freedom for at least five years. The new sound still has the Roué ferocity, but it's quite different. Some say better. It's definitely more unhinged and less complex from a music writing standpoint. Definitely heavy on the beat." —D.X. Ferris


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2019 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation