This is a past event.

Beethoven and Mozart 

When: Thu., Jan. 16 2014
Continuing their year-long presentation of Beethoven’s masterful piano concertos, the Cleveland Orchestra presents Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. The piece, which premiered in 1807, was not only considered the most complex of the composer’s concertos but would also proved to be the last piece Beethoven would perform as a soloist. Presenting the softer, gentler side to the German master, the fourth concerto starts off unassuming but then builds to beautiful, sweeping melodies. Finding complexity in stunning solo cadenzas, the composition is still as breathtaking as the day it premiered. Tonight’s soloist, the critically acclaimed piano virtuoso Radu Lupu, is known for his brilliant interpretations of composers like Beethoven. Paired with tonight’s concerto, Mozart’s “Prague” Symphony No. 38 sets the pace for the evening. German composer Jorg Widmann’s 2012 work Teufel Amor receives its American premiere as well. Tonight’s performance at Severance Hall starts at 7:30. The orchestra performs again at 7:30 p.m. tomorrow and at 8 p.m. on Saturday. Tickets range from $31 to $149. (Patrick Stoops)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2017 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation