You may have glimpsed Level-C for a second on MTV's Battle for Ozzfest, where the bawdy young female headbangers mugged for the camera but failed to make the cut at the show's tryouts. It's not likely to be the last time you see this promising bunch.

On this five-song demo, the only thing that outsizes the riffs is the 'tude. "Let's see how hard we rock/We're gonna make it," singer Christine Maynard growls, on a tune that comes across like a heavy-metal take on the Laverne & Shirley theme. Clumsy lyrics frequently trip the band up on precocious tantrums like "Suck a Fist" and "Kick Flip" (dude, even Fred Durst would think twice about spitting a couplet like "We run the damn show/And I know you feel my flow"). But elsewhere, Level-C displays potential, with moody, harmony-laden thrash and a badass frontlady who's just crass and confident enough to live up to her boasts eventually.

More by Jason Bracelin


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


Staff Pick Events

  • Arnez J @ Improv Comedy Club & Restaurant

    • Fri., Nov. 16
  • Dave Attell @ Hilarities Comedy Club

    • Fri., Nov. 16
  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park Concert Series @ Happy Days Lodge

    • Fri., Nov. 16

© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation