This is a past event.

Mitsuko Meets Mozart 

When: Thu., April 3 2014
Grammy Award-winning pianist Mitsuko Uchida returns to Severance Hall to play Mozart’s Piano Concertos Nos. 18 and 19 with the Cleveland Orchestra. Uchida is renowned for her intelligent and elegant interpretations of Mozart, which you will experience tonight as she conducts the ensemble from the keyboard. Both concertos were composed in 1784 and share an endearing playfulness that Mozart mastered in his prolific works for fortepiano. Symphony No. 23, composed when Mozart was only 17, will be played between the two concertos. While this is considered an early work, it holds all of the unmistakable hallmarks of Mozart’s symphonic music. Concertmaster William Preucil will lead the orchestra for this piece. The concert begins at 7:30 tonight at Severance with repeat performances tomorrow and Saturday. Tickets start at $31. (Eric Gonzalez)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation