This is a past event.

Mozart and Haydn 

When: Thu., April 14 2016
Symphony No. 39, one of Mozart’s final three symphonies, encapsulates the beauty and eloquence for which the composer is known. Franz Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 6 is nicknamed “Le Matin” (“The Morning”) because it begins with the depiction of a sunrise. Tonight at 7:30 at Severance Hall, British conductor Jane Glover leads the Cleveland Orchestra in both pieces, as well as Mozart’s Concerto for Flute and Harp with principal flute Joshua Smith and guest harpist Yolanda Kondonassis as soloists. Rose Breckenridge, administrator and lecturer for the Cleveland Orchestra’s Music Study Groups, gives a pre-concert talk that takes place an hour before the concert, in Severance Hall’s Reinberger Chamber Hall. The concert repeats at 7 tomorrow night (minus the Haydn symphony) and at 8 on Saturday night. Tickets start at $29. (Niesel)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.