This is a past event.

Ravel and Rachmaninoff 

When: Sat., Aug. 2 2014
Two works by Maurice Ravel, Pavane for a Dead Princess and the Piano Concerto in G major with soloist Benjamin Grosvenor, will be performed tonight at Blossom under the direction of Johannes Debus, along with Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances and a suite from Jean-Phillipe Rameau’s Les Indes Galantes. Then, acclaimed Hollywood conductor Richard Kaufman comes to Blossom tomorrow to lead the Cleveland Orchestra in a performance of classic movie music including selections from Lawrence of Arabia, The Right Stuff and more, featuring trumpet soloist Michael Sachs in John Williams’s “With Malice Towards None” from Lincoln. Tickets to each concert range from $23 to $85. Tonight’s concert starts at 8; tomorrow’s performance begins at 7 p.m. (Gonzalez)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation