Regional Beat: Youth Forgotten 

Ghost of a Fallen Empire (self-released)


You could call Youth Forgotten a super group. The lineup consists of singer J.C. Koszewski (Dead Even), lead guitarist Matt Brewer (ex-Integrity), drummer Rob Walters (Salt The Wound), guitarist Aaron Salo (Above This Fire) and bassist Jim LaMarca (Chimaira), all of whom represent some of the finest musicians on the local dark hardcore/metal scene. Recorded locally at Rob Arnold's RobArnoldWorld, Ghost of a Fallen Empire starts fast and furious with the parched vocals of "Anthem," a song that commences as thrash metal but finishes on a mellower note after a nice mid-song bridge. Sneering vocals cut to the core in "Revolution for Nothing" and a menacing howl kicks off "Take Control." With its dense layer of noise, "Unite the City" serves as the standout track and suggests the band isn't content to stick with the tried and true. An impressive debut.


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


Staff Pick Events

  • Laurie Kilmartin @ Pickwick & Frolic/Hilarities East 4th

    • Fri., Nov. 23
  • Open Turntable Tuesday @ The Winchester

    • Tuesdays
  • Keith Alberstadt @ Pickwick & Frolic/Hilarities East 4th

    • Wed., Nov. 28

© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation