Fuckin for the Future (www.roue.org)

Late last year, we tagged Roué as one of Cleveland's most promising young acts to watch in 2003. With the release of Fuckin for the Future, the band has lived up to the hype and then some.

Equally cerebral and vengeful, Roué's sound comes with lacerating guitars and even sharper wit, as evidenced by such cuts as the sarcastic, sneering "Rockin This Disaster." Frontman Justin Coulter alternates a cottonmouth drawl with a pained yelp that sounds like the Jesus Lizard's David Yow passing a kidney stone. The production's as raw as Coulter's vocal cords, which is only fitting: If the singer's heart-stopping shrieks were any higher in the mix, you'd have to ask children to leave the room. Full-tilt freakouts "Rockin This Disaster" and "32 Hike!" are driven by loud, onerous bass and thunderclap drums. The band catches its breath on the temperamental "Ground From Here" and "Forever Again," where Roué slows the tempos and delves into gnarled post-rock -- a welcome relief from tension. The Future of Cleveland indie rock is here.

Speaking of Regional Beat

More by Jason Bracelin


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


Staff Pick Events

  • Laurie Kilmartin @ Pickwick & Frolic/Hilarities East 4th

    • Fri., Nov. 23
  • Open Turntable Tuesday @ The Winchester

    • Tuesdays

© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation