Saturday, February 24, at Inside.

A unique multimedia performance created by local sax star Josh Smith, New York saxophonist Chris Jonas, and New York artists Colleen Sanders and Molly Sturges, "(Sub)merge" is an art installation as much as a musical performance. The exhibit/ show will allow the audience to manipulate the music by giving patrons private tasks that will determine the evolution of the music. (Sub)merge has a stated goal "to reconstitute the traditional audience-to-performer relationships" and "take the components of a unified musical experience and isolate its parts into totally separate physical spaces." To that effect, the show will feature a number of small boxes and enclosures from which different sounds will emanate. Members of the audience will be able to walk around these components and physically interact with them, thereby helping to create the music. The piece is nonspecific but has to do with humans having to deal with the outside world and with breaking down the barrier between the inside and outside worlds. Because of the nature of the performances, there will be four shows -- one every hour between 7 and 10 p.m. -- and there will be a 30-person-per-show limit, so reservations are recommended.

Speaking of Previews

Latest in Livewire

More by Harvey Pekar


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


Staff Pick Events

  • Arnez J @ Improv Comedy Club & Restaurant

    • Fri., Nov. 16
  • Dave Attell @ Hilarities Comedy Club

    • Fri., Nov. 16
  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park Concert Series @ Happy Days Lodge

    • Fri., Nov. 16

© 2018 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation