This is a past event.

Truls Mørk Plays Schumann 

When: Thu., March 24 2016
During a particularly prolific period, Schumann wrote his cello concerto. At the time, his wife, Clara, who was delighted with it, wrote, “The Romantic quality, the vivacity, the freshness and humor, also the highly interesting interweaving of cello and orchestra are indeed wholly ravishing, and what euphony and deep feeling one finds in all the melodic passages.” Tonight, Franz Welser-Möst conducts the piece, with soloist Truls Mørk, along with Bruckner's Symphony No. 6 and Kurtág’s Petite musique solennelle: Homage to Pierre Boulez at 90. A pre-concert talk, “Revisions and Second Thoughts,” by Rose Breckenridge, administrator and lecturer for The Cleveland Orchestra’s Music Study Groups, precedes the concert, in Reinberger Chamber Hall at Severance Hall. The talk begins at 6:30 p.m.; the concert takes place at 7:30 p.m. The program repeats on Saturday, when the pre-concert talk takes place at 7 p.m. and the concert follows at 8 p.m. Tickets start at $29. (Niesel)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2017 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation