Regional Beat: Youth Forgotten

Ghost of a Fallen Empire (self-released)

You could call Youth Forgotten a super group. The lineup consists of singer J.C. Koszewski (Dead Even), lead guitarist Matt Brewer (ex-Integrity), drummer Rob Walters (Salt The Wound), guitarist Aaron Salo (Above This Fire) and bassist Jim LaMarca (Chimaira), all of whom represent some of the finest musicians on the local dark hardcore/metal scene. Recorded locally at Rob Arnold's RobArnoldWorld, Ghost of a Fallen Empire starts fast and furious with the parched vocals of "Anthem," a song that commences as thrash metal but finishes on a mellower note after a nice mid-song bridge. Sneering vocals cut to the core in "Revolution for Nothing" and a menacing howl kicks off "Take Control." With its dense layer of noise, "Unite the City" serves as the standout track and suggests the band isn't content to stick with the tried and true. An impressive debut.

About The Author

Jeff Niesel

Jeff has been covering the Cleveland music scene for more than 20 years now. And on a regular basis, he tries to talk to whatever big acts are coming through town, too. If you're in a band that he needs to hear, email him at [email protected]
Scroll to read more Music News articles
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join Cleveland Scene Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.