Support Local Journalism. Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club.

Monday, July 23, 2018

Ohio Highway Patrol to Crack Down on Offenders of 'Move Over' Law

Posted By on Mon, Jul 23, 2018 at 2:16 PM

click to enlarge FLICKR: @JACK
  • Flickr: @Jack

Ohio's State Highway Patrol and state police are joining five other states in focusing on enforcement of the Move Over law this week.

Despite the popular belief that the Move Over law is merely something to do out of courtesy, drivers approaching any vehicles with flashing or rotating lights that are parked on the roadside or shoulder are legally required to move over to an adjacent lane, pending traffic and weather conditions.

If there isn't the availability to move into a different lane, drivers are required to slow down and proceed with caution. In Ohio, the Move Over law also protects firefighters, maintenance workers and tow-truck drivers.

On average, one cop, 23 highway workers, and five tow-truck operators are struck and killed by the side of the road every month. From 2013-2017, Ohio patrol cruisers were involved in 58 crashes that appear to be related to the Move Over law. The crashes resulted in the deaths of two civilians and injured 34 civilians and 24 officers.

While the Move Over law doesn't explicitly protect truck drivers, accident sites or cars needing assistance on the side of the road, moving over to the other lane is always the preferred and most non-asshole way to share the road.

The penalties for breaking the Move Over law depend on your driving record and may include fines or even jail time. If you fail to comply with the Move Over law and your driving record is clean, it’s a minor misdemeanor. You’ll have to pay $300 in fines, double the $150 usually associated with minor misdemeanors.

If you have been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a traffic or motor vehicle offense within the past year, it’s a fourth degree misdemeanor – that can mean up to 30 days of jail time and a fine of $500.

If you have two or more offenses within the past year, it’s a third degree misdemeanor, which carries up to 60 days of jail time and a $1000 fine.

The Ohio State Highway Patrol began heavily enforcing the law Sunday, and that will continue until 11:59 a.m., July 28.

Tags: , , , , ,

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 5, 2022

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 505-8199
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation