United We Brunch returns to the Madison Sat., March 14. Limited tickets still available!

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Three City Councilmen Go Down, But Other Incumbents Cruise

Posted By on Tue, Nov 7, 2017 at 11:43 PM

click to enlarge The Challenger: Basheer Jones
  • The Challenger: Basheer Jones
Most of the Cleveland City Council races were over before Tuesday's votes were even tabulated — the incumbents had built up substantial leads from absentee ballots. But in Wards 1, 7 and 14, sitting councilmen Terrell Pruitt, T.J. Dow and Brian Cummins lost to their opponents: Joe Jones, Basheer Jones and Jasmin Santana.

Results from all three races were extremely close — and the campaigns in Ward 7 and 14, especially, were contentious — and the Board of Elections' numbers are as of yet unofficial. But as it stands, both Joneses and Santana are victorious. Santana will become the first female Hispanic city councilperson in the city's history. Joe Jones had trailed most of the evening, but surged late, overtaking Pruitt, council's majority whip, and winning by only 20 votes in the current count. 

Zack Reed, who lost to Frank Jackson in the mayoral race, and Jeff Johnson, who ran for mayor but was eliminated in the primaries, will surrender their council seats in Wards 2 and 10. Those seats will be filled by 51-year-old Kevin Bishop and current county councilman Anthony Hairston, who easily defeated former City Councilman Eugene Miller.

Challenger Gail Sparks put up a good fight in Ward 4, but for the most part, incumbents cruised to landslide victories. Results below, with incumbents in bold.

Ward 1: Joe Jones def. Terrell Pruitt (50.2%/49.8%)
Ward 7: Basheer Jones def. T.J. Dow (51%/49%)
Ward 14: Jasmin Santana def. Brian Cummins (51%/49%)

Ward 4: Ken Johnson def. Gail Sparks (56%/44%)

Ward 2: Kevin Bishop def. Geoff Fitch (72%/28%)
Ward 10: Anthony Hairston def. Eugene Miller (65%/35%)

Ward 3: Kerry McCormack def. Logan Fahey (85%/15%)
Ward 5: Phyllis Cleveland def. Richard Starr (59%/41%)
Ward 6: Blaine Griffin def. Joshua Perkins-McHamm (69%/31%)
Ward 8: Mike Polensek def. Donald Boyd (87%/13%)
Ward 9: Kevin Conwell def. Anthony Body (78%/22%)
Ward 11: Dona Brady def. Gilder Malone (79%/21%)
Ward 12: Anthony Brancatelli def. Shalira Taylor (73%/27%)
Ward 13: Kevin Kelley def. Michele Burk (77%/23%)
Ward 15: Matt Zone def. Alex Karrfalt (80%/20%)
Ward 16: Brian Kazy def. Ellen Cleary (69%/31%)
Ward 17: Martin Keane def. John Kelly (73%/27%)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2020 Cleveland Scene: 737 Bolivar Rd., Suite 4100, Cleveland, OH 44115, (216) 241-7550
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners.

Website powered by Foundation